Home > Main Blog - General > Where I’ve Been and Happy Flippin’ New Year

Where I’ve Been and Happy Flippin’ New Year

I‘m sorry for my abrupt and extended absence from the blogosphere. As I suspected, the lack of my presence did not result in the end of life as we know it.
The primary, though far from only, reason is that my oldest son (I have 4 children) was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and I took some time off from several of my activities to devote to him and learning about his (our) new way of life.
At first, I’d have to say the diagnosis was a kick in the gut and pretty devastating to us all. However, in short order, we have learned that the disease and life with it is manageable and not too much different from life without it.
Soon, I’ll be adding a link to the American Diabetes Association to the page. Further, I plan to start fund-raising for Ride For A Cure – a 70 mile bicycle ride to help with diabetes research. Actually, I think it is the fund-raising, and not the ride itself that helps the foundation with research, but the training might help me to stave off Type 2 Diabetes in myself. (I’ve gotten rather sedentary since I left the military).

I’ve been watching the blog and the news, and don’t think that every time Sarah Palin “refudiated” something, that I didn’t want to jump on the computer and “counter-fudiate”, but had neither the time nor the energy. But with the new year, comes new hope and a new start. Hopefully, I’ll be back in the saddle soon.

Happy New Year one and all.

Categories: Main Blog - General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

